2008 Leadership Committee Announced

Jimmy Clausen - Notre Dame QuarterbackCharlie Weis announced the 2008 leadership committee today when he addressed the media.  Here are the six players on this years committee.

  • Quarterback – Jimmy Clausen
  • Fullback – Asaph Schwapp
  • Offensive Line – Sam Young
  • Defensive Line – Pat Kuntz
  • Cornerback – Terrail Lambert
  • Special Teams – Scott Smith

These players will join Tri-Captains David Grimes, Maurice Crum, and David Bruton as the leaders for this year’s team.  Jimmy Clausen is the sophomore to be on the leadership committee for Notre Dame since Weis created it when he was hired in 2005.  Clausen and Young are the only non seniors on the committee this year.

On the surface, the only name that kind of pops out is Schwapp.  Up until now, his name has never really been mentioned as one of the leaders of the team.  He is the oldest running back on the roster, but as we learned last year – simply being a senior is not necessarily synonymous with being a leader so it will be interesting to see how Schwapp handles the responsibility.

I’ll try to get a full article on what Weis had to say about this year’s leadership committee tonight.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button