2014 Shamrock Series – Notre Dame vs. Purdue in Indy

2014 Shamrock Series - Notre Dame vs. Purdue
General view of the exterior of Lucas Oil Stadium before Super Bowl XLVI between the New York Giants and the New England Patriots. (Photo: Kirby Lee/Image of Sport-USA TODAY Sports)

The 2014 Shamrock Series game was announced yesterday.  Notre Dame will take on Purdue at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on September 13 with kick-off set for 7:30 PM ET just like the other previous Shamrock Series games.

“We are excited to bring this great instate rivalry game to Indianapolis next season,” Purdue athletics director Morgan Burke said yesterday via a statement. “Both schools have great fan and alumni bases there, so it will make for an entertaining evening of college football.”

This will not be the first time that Notre Dame and Purdue will play each other in Indianapolis.  In 1984, Notre Dame and Purdue faced off in the Hoosier Dome for the dedication of the stadium with Purdue upsetting #8 Notre Dame 23-21.

It was also revealed that after the 2014 contest, the Notre Dame and Purdue series would take a break until 2020.  With Notre Dame’s new commitment to play five ACC games a year that goes into effect in 2014, it was assumed for a while that the Purdue series would not be able to continue on a yearly basis as it has since 1946.  When the series resumes in 2020, the Irish will travel to West Lafayette.  Purdue will return to Notre Dame in 2024 and the Irish will make another trip to West Lafayette in 2025.  In 2026, Notre Dame and Purdue will play in a neutral site.

“Jack and I tried everything we could to keep the series going without interruption,” Burke said. “But, between the Big Ten going to a nine-game schedule and Notre Dame’s affiliation with the Atlantic Coast Conference, it just didn’t work out. The series is important to both schools, and we are pleased that we are able to extend it through 2026.”

Next year’s Shamrock Series game will be the 6th installment of the yearly neutral site “home game” for Notre Dame.  Notre Dame has won each of the previous five Shamrock Series games.

  • 2009 – Washington State in San Antonio (Alamodome)
  • 2010 – Army in New York (Yankee Stadium)
  • 2011 – Maryland in Landover, Maryland (FedEx Field)
  • 2012 – Miami in Chicago (Soldier Field)
  • 2013 – Arizona State in Dallas (Cowboys Stadium)

Since Notre Dame wears a specialty jersey for each Shamrock Series game and next year’s contest takes place so early in the season, fans should expect to see the jerseys a little earlier this year and won’t have to wait too long to see the Irish don them.  This year’s jerseys and helemts were received very well by Notre Dame fans after some mixed reviews for the 2011 and 2012 renditions.

You may also like


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button