Brady Quinn Finalist for 2006 Maxwell, O’Brien Awards

( – Senior quarterback Brady Quinn was named a finalist for a couple more post season awards on Tuesday when he was named one of three finalists for the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Awards.

Quinn is having another record setting year for the Irish while leading Notre Dame to a 10-1 record in his second season under head coach Charlie Weis. Heading into the final regular season game of his college career, Quinn is currently the owner of 35 different Notre Dame passing records and with one more touchdown pass against USC this weekend, he will break his own record for touchdown passes in a season of 32.

To date, Quinn has thrown for 3,004 yards, 32 touchdowns to just 5 interceptions with a completion percentage of 65.1% this season.

The Maxwell Award is given out annually to the College Player of the Year as determined by a group of NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club, and sportswriters across the country. Joining Quinn as a finalist for the Maxwell Award are Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith and Rutgers running back Ray Rice.

Smith and Quinn have battled it out for numerous post season awards this season including the Heisman Trophy. Smith has led the Buckeyes to an undefeated season and have clinched a spot in the National Championship game. Ray meanwhile, is fourth in the nation in rushing with 1,388 yards for the surprising Scarlet Knights of Rutgers. Rutgers like Ohio State entered last weekend undefeated, but were upset by Cincinnati.

Last year’s Maxwell Award winner was Texas quarterback Vince Young who narrowly edged out USC running back Reggie Bush. Southern Cal quarterback finished third.

For the second straight season Quinn has also been named as a finalist for the O’Brien Award. The Davey O’Brien Award is handed out annually to the best college quarterback in the country as determined by the O’Brien Selection Committee. Smith joins Quinn again as a finalist along with Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan.

Vince Young took home the O’Brien Award as well last year over Leinart and Quinn.

Both award winners will be announced during ESPN¹s Home Depot College Football Award Show which will be broadcast list on December 7th at 7 P.M. EST. The Maxwell Winner will then be honored at a special presentation at Harrah¹s Hotel & Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey on March 2nd while the O’Brien Winner will be honored at 30th annual Davey O¹Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button