There was some discussion about Navy’s “4th” timeout in yesterday’s barnburner of a football game in Baltimore. What had happened was Navy called a timeout after Jonas Gray fumbled near the goal line to ensure that the play could be reviewed. It was originally called down by contact, but after review, Gray was ruled to have fumbled. The referees, however, never announced that Navy would not be charged a timeout.
Weis addressed the matter on Sunday.
Well, we went and did some due diligence on this today, and the only thing that we can figure out is there’s some ambiguity around the time out that was called around Jonas’s fumble, okay. There’s some ambiguity on that one.
So the question is, whether or not there was a charged time-out or there wasn’t a charged time out. So even though a time-out, they made an announcement that I didn’t hear, the time-out came off the board, some people think that we are watching TV, that they said, there will not be a charged time-out; and therefore, there should not have been a time-out come off the board, even though at the end of the game, there were no time-outs left on the board, technically according to the officials, there was still one left.
I had never got an explanation where the one left came from, but when we did our research today, that’s the only thing at this time that we could come up with.
So there you have it. The timeout was awarded back to Navy because the play was challenged and reversed.