Random Offseason Stat

While doing unrelated research today, I came across this stat regarding NFL MVPs. It’s a stat I have never heard mentioned on any ND message board, any ND publication or broadcast. Since the Associated Press started to announce the NFL’s most valuable players back in 1957, one school has stood atop the NCAA as having delivered the most number of players to be selected as the NFL’s MVP. You guessed it, Notre Dame.

The Irish have sent four players on to become NFL MVPs (Paul Hournung, Alan Page, Joe Theismann, Joe Montana). LSU and Alabama come in second with three, though it has been reported that Alabama claims seven.

This at the very least adds to a little of the intrigue to the Brady Quinn vs. Jamarcus Russell NFL career battle. Charlie Weis has said that in three years, Quinn will be one of the top three QBs in the league, while pundits like Todd McShay seemingly salivate daily over Russell, who rose as the media favorite after his most impressive day as a collegiate quarterback came against a lowly Notre Dame defense.

Season Player College
1957 Jim Brown Syracuse
1958 Gino Marchetti San Francisco
1959 Charlie Conerly Ole Miss
1960 Norm Van Brocklin Oregon
1960 Joe Schmidt Pittsburgh
1961 Paul Hornung ND
1962 Jim Taylor LSU
1963 Y.A. Tittle LSU
1964 Johnny Unitas Louisville
1965 Jim Brown Syracuse
1966 Bart Starr Alabama
1967 Johnny Unitas Louisville
1968 Earl Morrall Michigan State
1969 Roman Gabriel NC State
1970 John Brodie Stanford
1971 Alan Page ND
1972 Larry Brown Kansas State
1973 O.J. Simpson USC
1974 Ken Stabler Alabama
1975 Fran Tarkenton Georgia
1976 Bert Jones LSU
1977 Walter Payton Jackson State
1978 Terry Bradshaw Louisiana Tech
1979 Earl Campbell Texas
1980 Brian Sipe San Diego State
1981 Ken Anderson Augustana
1982 Mark Moseley Texas A&M, Stephen F. Austin
1983 Joe Theismann ND
1984 Dan Marino Pittsburgh
1985 Marcus Allen USC
1986 Lawrence Taylor North Carolina
1987 John Elway Stanford
1988 Boomer Esiason Maryland
1989 Joe Montana ND
1990 Joe Montana ND
1991 Thurman Thomas Oklahoma State
1992 Steve Young BYU
1993 Emmitt Smith Florida
1994 Steve Young BYU
1995 Brett Favre Southern Miss
1996 Brett Favre Southern Miss
1997 Brett Favre Southern Miss
1997 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State
1998 Terrell Davis Georgia
1999 Kurt Warner Northern Iowa
2000 Marshall Faulk San Diego State
2001 Kurt Warner Northern Iowa
2002 Rich Gannon Delaware
2003 Peyton Manning Tennessee
2003 Steve McNair Alcorn State
2004 Peyton Manning Tennessee
2005 Shaun Alexander Alabama
2006 LaDainian Tomlinson TCU

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button